26 Aug 2004, 12:57:36 PM

The AFL COACHES CHAMPION AWARDS will reach new heights this year with the gala night telecast on Seven on Tuesday September 14 from 11.30pm.

Hosted by Tim Watson, the night will feature the announcement and presentation of some of the most sort after awards in the AFL.

The 16 AFL coaches have voted for the top players at each game throughout the season culminating in the highlight of the awards night – the announcement of the 2004 AFL Coaches Association Champion Player.

Tim Watson says he is excited about hosting the awards night because he knows how much the Champion Player award means to the footballers.

“The award is so respected among the players because the votes have come from opposition coaches,” he says. “It is the ultimate accolade for any professional footballer.”

The AFL Coaches Champion Awards will also include the announcement of the Coach of the Year, a Lifetime Achievement Award, the Dream Team of the Year and Best Young Player of the Year.

The telecast, from the Victory Room at Telstra Dome, will also feature past and present AFL players and coaches and live entertainment, including singer Kate Ceberano and comedian Andrew Startin.